Skip to content

In an attempt to alleviate the effects of workforce shortages, some states are changing their child labor laws to permit more teens to work. For example, Maine and Michigan now allow 17-year-olds to serve alcohol at bars and restaurants. Other states have gone further, some now permitting 16- and 17-year-olds to work up to 50 hours a week and 14- and 15-year-olds up to 40 hours a week.

Signup today and get answers to:

  • Are there federal child labor laws?

  • Does my state have child labor laws?

  • What if I don’t know my employees’ ages?

  • What does this mean for employers?

Thompson Coe and myHRgenius Tip of the Week is not intended as a solicitation, does not constitute legal advice, and does not establish an attorney-client relationship.


Subscribe to myHRgenius for unlimited expert help.

Find out more about the program and subscribe today.

Learn More

Related People

Kevin M. Mosher

Kevin M. Mosher


Related Resources