Firm News

Thirteen Lawyers Selected Best Lawyers

August 17, 2015

Thirteen lawyers from Thompson, Coe, Cousins & Irons were recently selected by their peers for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America® 2016 (Copyright 2011 by Woodward/White, Inc., of Aiken, S.C.).

Since its inception in 1983, Best Lawyers has become universally regarded as the definitive guide to legal excellence. Because Best Lawyers is based on an exhaustive peer-review survey in which more than 52,000 leading attorneys cast almost 5.5 million votes on the legal abilities of other lawyers in their practice areas, and because lawyers are not required or allowed to pay a fee to be listed, inclusion in Best Lawyers is considered a singular honor. Corporate Counsel magazine has called Best Lawyers “the most respected referral list of attorneys in practice.”

Congratulations to the following attorneys:

Administrative/ Regulatory Law

  • Jay A. Thompson (Austin)

Insurance Law

  • Rodney D. Bucker (Dallas)
  • Jack Cleaveland, Jr. (Dallas)
  • Rodrigo Garcia Jr (Houston)
  • David D. Knoll (Austin)
  • Brian S. Martin (Houston)
  • Jay A. Thompson (Austin)
  • Ellen Van Meir (Dallas)
  • Harrison Yoss (Dallas)

Personal Injury Litigation - Defendants

  • Randy Nelson (Dallas)
  • Jeffrey Otto (Austin)
  • Ronald D. Wamstead (Austin)

Product Liability Litigation - Defendants

  • Jeffrey Otto (Austin)
  • David M. Taylor (Dallas)
  • Ronald D. Wamsted (Austin)

Professional Malpractice Law - Defendants

  • Thomas A. Culpepper (Dallas)

Firm Highlights


Defense Verdict After 4 Week Malpractice Trial

The lessee of a commercial property brought an action against its real estate broker for negligence, breach of fiduciary duty and constructive fraud, alleging that the broker had a duty to investigate whether the...


Texas Supreme Court Issues Two New Opinions Addressing Appraisal Award


Additional Insured Coverage: Know Your Limitations


Looking Forward to 2019 - "Texas-Sized" Verdicts in 2018

“Everything’s bigger in Texas.” To many, this phrase is not merely a colloquialism, but rather a defining characteristic of the Lone Star State. Yet, for much of the state’s recent history, this “Texas-sized” perception...

News Item

Houston Partners Prevail in Agent/Broker Statutory Fraud Suit


The Good, the Bad and the Ugly: What Is and What Is Not an Effective Stowers Demand


Fifth Circuit Holds that Texas Law Immunizes Law Firm from Liability for Alleged Misrepresentations Made to Excess Insurer

Ironshore Eur. DAC v. Schiff Hardin, L.L.P. No. 18-40101 (5th Cir. Jan. 2, 2019) In a January 2, 2019 opinion, the Fifth Circuit found that attorney immunity applies to liability for negligent misrepresentations and...


Analysis: Texas Supreme Court Broadens Liability Under TPPCA Claims in Barbara Technologies, Ortiz


Property Insurers: Beware Getting Stuck In Texas State Court


Thompson Coe Succeeds in 8th Circuit Reversing $6M Day Care Abuse Coverage Suit